Remove this ad


Jul 1 08 12:07 PM

Tags : :

any news about the draw of the qualifiers?

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#1 [url]

Jul 3 08 2:09 PM

The draw for the 2008 Cosafa Senior Challenge will be conducted on July 10 in Johannesburg to decide two groups for the eight teams that will battle it out to identify two teams who will proceed to the knock out stage.
The group round will be held from July 17 to 25 in Mpumulanga and Malawi’s Flames, Namibia, Madagascar, Swaziland, Lesotho, Seychelles, Mauritius and Comoros will participate in this stage because they are not in the top six on Fifa rankings in the region.

Quote    Reply   

#3 [url]

Jul 9 08 10:47 AM

The annual tournament looked likely to fall off the calendar when it lost its previous sponsor, but it has been hastily resuscitated.

The Cosafa Senior Challenge Cup will have a formal launch on Thursday, as the competition goes ahead for a 12th successive year.

Sponsorship comes from the government of South Africa's Mpumalanga province, where the tournament will be hosted.

It will also see the field expanded to 14, with the entry of the Comoros Islands, and it will be played in a knockout format, in a bid to cut costs.

The top six ranked countries, Angola, Botswana, Mozambique, South Africa, Zambia and Zimbabwe, will not participate in the first phase.

The Comoros Islands, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia, Seychelles and Swaziland will be drawn into two groups of four for the first phase of the tournament from 19-24 July.

Angola: 1999, 2001, 2004
Zambia: 1997, 1998, 2006
Zimbabwe: 2000, 2003, 2005
South Africa: 2002, 2007
There will be six successive days of double-header matches, and the two group winners will advance with the top six to the quarter-finals on 26 and 27 July.

The semi-finals will be hosted at the Thulamahashe Stadium in Bushbuckridge on 30 July and the final will be played at same venue on 3 August.

South Africa are the defending champions, but Angola, Zimbabwe and Zambia have had the most success with three titles each since the competition was first launched in 1997.

Quote    Reply   

#4 [url]

Jul 9 08 10:52 AM

South Africa will only use players from National First Division . This means no players from Premier League in SA or any foreign based players.

Dont know if SA matches will be considered A matches ?

Quote    Reply   

#5 [url]

Jul 10 08 5:57 PM

The other eight have to play in a 2 group tournament from 19-24 July; Swaziland were drawn with Madagascar, Mauritius and the Seychelles in Group A while Malawi will be the fancied team in Group B along with Lesotho, Namibia and the Comoros.

The group winners will advance to the quarter-finals on 26 July where recent World Cup finalists Angola play the Group B winner while the Group A victors take on hosts South Africa.

In the other two quarter-finals arch-rivals Zambia and Zimbabwe were thrown together while World Cup protagonists Botswana and Mozambique will also resume hostilities.

The tournament is being hosted and sponsored by South Africa's Mpumalanga province and begins on 19 July and culminates with the final on August 3.

Most teams are expected to bring strong sides to the event although because the dates falls outside of the Fifa calendar meaning they will not be able to call upon foreign-based players.

The annual tournament looked likely to fall off the calendar when it lost its previous sponsor, but it has been hastily resuscitated.

Quote    Reply   

#6 [url]

Jul 11 08 7:30 PM

Group A:
In Witbank, July 19:
Madagascar v Swaziland (15h00)
Mauritius v Seychelles (17h30)

In Witbank, July 21:
Madagascar v Seychelles (15h00)
Mauritius v Swaziland (17h30)

In Witbank, July 23:
Madagascar v Mauritius (15h00)
Seychelles v Swaziland (17h30)

Group B:
In Secunda, July 20:
Lesotho v Malawi (15h00)
Comoros Islands v Namibia (17h30)

In Secunda, July22:
Comoros Islands v Malawi (15h00)
Lesotho v Namibia (17h30)

In Secunda, July 24:
Malawi v Namibia (15h00)
Comoros Islands v Lesotho (17h30)

In Witbank, July 26:
South Africa v Winner Group B (15h00)
Angola v Winner Group A (17h30)

In Secunda, July 27:
Zambia v Zimbabwe (15h00)
Botswana v Mozambique (17h30)

In Thulamahashe, July 30:
Winner Quarter-final 1 v Winner Quarter-final 3 (17h30)
Winner Quarter-final 2 v Winner Quarter-final 4 (19h30)

In Thulamahashe, August 3 (15h30) Save & Share

Quote    Reply   


Posts: 4,555 Site Admin

#18 [url]

Jul 24 08 1:43 PM

Seychelles 7-0 Mauritius really told us nothing about the outcome of this group. All teams were evenly matched after this. Madagascar, in the end, qualified by scoring one more goal overall than Swaziland.


Madagascar qualify after toss of a coin.

Quote    Reply   


Posts: 4,555 Site Admin

#20 [url]

Jul 25 08 12:11 PM

Angola U-20 v Madagascar
South Africa Development XI v Namibia
Botswana v Mozambique
Zambia v Zimbabwe

Angola and South Africa matches will not count towards FIFA ranking according to FIFA.

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Add Reply

Quick Reply

bbcode help